Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to Restore a Vintage Photo

Community Beginner ,
Jun 10, 2020 Jun 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Restore side by side.jpg

Hi my name is RaDawn and I am a Photographer in a small town in Wyoming. I have done everything from newborns, to real estate, to a UFC fight. I specialize mostly in family portrait photography, newborns being my favorite. I always love to challenge myself to learn and discover new skills, so when I recently saw a post made by Shana Hall in a photography group I am part of, asking for advice or help in restoring her old family photo that was damaged in hurricane Katrina. I was curious to see if I could figure out how to restore it with the knowledge I had in Photoshop and she agreed to let me give it a go. I decided to share how I was able to bring this photo back to life.

Here are the steps I took to fill in missing areas and restore the old photo:

Repair cracks and spots

• Open Photoshop
  • Open the image you wish to restore
  • Duplicate the photo layer
  • Select the patch tool
  • Use the patch tool to repair as many of the cracks and spots as you can

Paint in the damaged background and clothing

• Make a new empty layer
  • With a soft, round brush, set flow to about 5%
  • Use the eyedropper tool to select color from nearby areas of the photo
  • Paint in the remaining areas of the missing or damaged background with a soft brush selecting color from nearby areas
  • Go to filters
  • Add noise to that layer to give the newly painted areas texture and lessen the chance of banding
  • Create a new layer
  • Select the area around the damaged clothing and paint color, adjusting the brush size to fit the area you need to paint

Fix the heads

• To repair the hair, select and copy another part of the hair and from where the cracks and spots have already been fixed