• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How To Set Up Studio M1 Max for Maximum Speed Using Photoshop

Participant ,
Apr 19, 2024 Apr 19, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been my head against that proverbial wall and my biggest problem has been figuring out how to word my question, I think I have it thanks to samlarson!

I have a Mac Studio M1 Max 64 GB,  10 core CPU, 24 core GPU, 16 Neural Engine, 1 TB Memory and the Studio Display. I got it in late 2022 and have been very disappointed in my inability to figure out how to make it work to its potential. THat sentence sounds like a junior high school teacher, doesn't it? 

I'm a small business owner and enjpy doing all the images, graphics, etc. for web, product packaging, labels, social etc. I deal with a LOT of images of all sizes since it is print and web. I know I should have sucked it up and gotten more TB, BUT I didn't. 

Here is my current workflow - I keep virtually nothing on my actual hard drive and have all images aka Photoshop and INDesign files stored on external hard drives that I mount as needed. I may work off one 10-15 TB hard drive a few months until it is full and then I get another one. I have not utilized Bridge or Lightroom (decision paralysis) and I tried a few Library systems that did not work.

On an average workday I work in Photoshop from images on the hard drives. I leave them plufgged in all of the time. One problem that has gotten worse the last year has been if I'm looking for an image I open the folder it would be in and the thumbnails either load so painfully slow or not at all. I've walked away for an hour and came back to no thumbnails loaded. My work flow has been to eyeball them and snag what I need. Yes, I could have done a better job of naming the files over the years. I also could have not eaten that delicious cake for lunch yesterday. Sigh.