Little info about focus stacking algorithm used in Photoshop

New Here ,
Jan 31, 2021 Jan 31, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

i'm currently a student interested in focus stacking software.

Of course, the details of focus stacking algo's implemented in Photoshop

are not public avaible due to commercial reason;

anyway i cannot find even some basic "generic type info" about it;

(i'm quite sure i've not searched in right place, so maybe anyone could give me some suggest about)

I mean,some of other major stacking software write something about

procedure used, at least from a general point of view.

For example is well documented that Helicon software uses three different algorithms,formally reported as "Method A, B, C"; and similar, Zerene Stacker software give some info about their two ways to stack images (reported as "PMax" and "DMap"  methods).

- Is photoshop using some procedure which we can "assume more or less like any of A/B/C or PMax/DMap" methods?

- Is photoshop using some procedure with different and specific logic  respect zerene/helicon procedure?
-Is there some article/technical docs from official adobe teams about the topic ?
Every info about focus stacking algorithm implemented is welcome, obvioulsy in general terms.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Apr 11, 2022 Apr 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi nikSCFE,