• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New Layer Dialog doesn't open

Community Beginner ,
Feb 10, 2023 Feb 10, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm studying Phtoto Shop by Tutorial.  I'm expecting to open "New Layer Dialog" by double clicking Background layer. However other dialog opened instead.  I'm using Mac.  Detail is following.

< How to create error >

Start Photoshop > Help > Hands-On tutorials > Add visual effects > Create a symmetrical photo effect with a  Blend mode >  Start Tutorial > Blue Dialog " Double - click the Background layer to open the New Layer Dialog and convert it to regular layer. Click OK. "

So I double Click as instructed ==>  But "Layer Style Dialog"  opened instead of "New Layer Dialog"  Then I couldn't proceed this tutorial.

<<< How can I open "New Layer Dialog" as instructed by this tutorial ?  Please support me. >>>

< My System & Software Version >

Mac Book Pro 

macOS  Ventura 13.1

Adobe Photoshop 24.1.1

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 15, 2023 Feb 15, 2023

@Kazushige283590151tsj wrote:

Jane,
Thank you for Background Layer explanation.

You might try practicing on an image that is not the tutorial — it will be less frustrating! Try double-clicking different areas of the Background layer in the Layers panel, moving from right to left. (Up/down does not make a difference.)

Jane

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm expecting to open "New Layer Dialog" by double clicking Background layer. How can I open "New Layer Dialog" as instructed by this tutorial ?  Please support me. 

The way to get the dialog for New Layer is to hold down the Option key and click the plus sign [+] at the bottom of the Layers panel.