Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop alignment tips required

New Here ,
Aug 11, 2021 Aug 11, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to astrophotography and wondered if anyone could help me. 

I've got around 10 images of the milky way above a nice foreground subject. I'm hoping to separate the sky from the foreground and stack in Photoshop to remove noise. 

So far I have successfully stacked my foreground portion of the image and I'm happy with the result, however when I try to stack the images to remove noise from the sky.. stars in the corners of the image are blurred. 

I have tried the following process:

- get frames and mask to remove foreground

- auto align layers (I have also tried with the distortion setting enabled and manually aligning but still no luck) * - this is the problem step, when changing the visibility of the different layers there is a noticeable difference in alignment but this process has worked for other images with this lens 

- remove mask

- concert layers to smart object

- use median stacking mode 

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Or send a link to some different instructions? 

Thank you in advance

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 11, 2021 Aug 11, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

stars in the corners of the image are blurred. 

By @jadei36511817

Do you have sharp stars on some image(s)? Do you understand why this is happening? Use masks to reveal  layer(s) content where stars are sharp instead of some other where stars are blurry. 

Do not remove mask(s) but rather change/modify them.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines