Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Prints too dark after file transfer

New Here ,
Mar 29, 2023 Mar 29, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys

so I'm an artist and have used photoshop to enchance my work for many, many years. Nothing has ever changed with my set up, settings or process and I have consistently used the same company for print. 
i scan my work and edit in cmyk format on photoshop on my Mac, as that is the format quested by the printers and then send the files as a jpeg via their website/email. For years they have come back to me exactly as the proofs would suggest with no issues, but more recently all my prints are coming back to me too dark or way overly saturated. The proofs on their end however still look fine. But something is making them darker when it comes to print.

they don't seem to have any clue as to what is causing this, and claim nothing has changed with the printing press or it's setting, but it can't be on my end since nothing has ever changed with my files

so figured I'd use the collective knowledge of all you guys, who are much more experienced than me.. so my question to you all is; do you have any idea what could be causing this? 

is there a potential that something like them maybe opening the file RGB and then printing in cmyk is causing the saturation?

Could it be their monitor calibration? 

or do you think something is wrong on my end, despite the fact some of my pieces been 6-7 years old and haven't been altered within that time?

any help would be great because they seem to think there's nothing they can do anymore 

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What CMYK profile are you using (and is it the one they request)? Is that profile embedded in your file?

Votes

Translate