• Global community
    • Language:
      • Deutsch
      • English
      • Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit
0

"Revert" command leads to loss of changes without any confirmation

Explorer ,
Jun 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This could be a "design flaw" or it could actually be a bug (i.e. It was meant not to be implemented the way it has been). 

 

Steps to reproduce:

1. open an existing file in Photoshop

2. make some changes (anything, really)

3. select File->Revert

 

Result: 

The changes are lost without any "Are you sure?" message. If, at step 3,  you were to close the file instead, you would get a warning about the loss. Why not during revert, is it not exactly the same thing?

 

Why is this an issue?

Because if you go for File->Save A Copy ... but miss and hit revert by mistake (like I just did!) bye-bye all your hard work.

 

Version:

Raised on Windows version v25.4.0 but presumably this wouldhappen in any version.

 

TOPICS
Windows

Views

126

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jun 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Not a bug. This is intended to revert to the last saved version. That's the purpose of this command. Photoshop just goes to disk and retrieves the version it finds there.

 

Ctrl+S to save, or alt+ctrl+S to save a copy.

 

It's actually very convenient if you just want to try out something without intending to keep it.

 

 

 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Jun 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I understand what the intention is. When you press exit, the intention is to exit, but you DO get the option to save your work. The revert is indeed very convenient but what is the harm in having a confirmation message when unsaved changes are present? An additional click is hardly inconvenient when weighed against the loss of an hour's work.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, but there's a difference. You already have saved, you don't risk losing everything.

 

Just go back one step in the History panel. Revert is a recorded step.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Jun 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ohhh my lordy! I didn't see that! Thank you. Not very intuitive I must say, but you're absolutely right.

So just re-doing all my work was unneccessary. Where were you two hours ago?? lol

Thanks again.

Steve

 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

🙂

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines