Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RGB colors constantly changing value

New Here ,
Jul 26, 2018 Jul 26, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone,

Let me first say I am not an expert in Photoshop, so forgive my ignorance.

I am working on files for digital fabric printing, which need to be in RGB for printing. I am saving them as a flattened .tiff as requested by the printer.

These files are manipulated photos, using filters etc, so they are simplified down to a few colors only.

Problem is, when I choose an RGB color from the picker, it looks fine. I save the file, come back to it later and the color value is different.

I am tearing my hair out to work out what is happening, and how to stop it.

I am working in the Adobe 1998 workspace and think maybe I should have left it in sRGB.

I noticed yesterday that the proof setup has Working CMYK ticked - would this be the reason?

If anyone can help I would be really appreciative.

Thanks in advance

Sarah

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Jul 27, 2018 Jul 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, you need to read up on how color profiles and color management actually work. If your proof setup is set to CMYK, then inevitably you are not seeing the native RGB values, but rather the ones after the CMYK transform. The simple answer would be to simply forego all that CM stuff if you realyl only need to match specific numeric values and otehrwise assume a generic sRGB space.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied