Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Saving selections

Community Beginner ,
Feb 23, 2022 Feb 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm just a beginner and struggling with the basics. I have been working on selections - selecting subjects in a couple of files to be used at a later stage as layers, quite pleased with the results so saved them as selections but now can't find them. They were there for a couple of weeks but this morning the view of the screen was changed and even my tool bar disappeared (restored now). I can see the files I've been working on and can open them but my selections disappeared! I did save them so potentially they should be somewhere there. Where are they saved and in what format? Does this happen often after updates? Don't have this sort of problems with Lightroom.

Many thanks in advance, Grace

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Open the image and look in the Channels panel. When you save a selection it saves as an alpha channel, which is just an extra channel alongside R, G and B.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks a lot!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Actually it disappered from the Chanels and the History panel. What a pain!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Could you please post screenshots with the pertinent Panels (Toolbar, Layers, Channels, Options Bar, …) visible? 

Votes

Translate