Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Speed of animation changing after converting to timeline

Community Beginner ,
Sep 12, 2020 Sep 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've been using photoshop for several months now and I'm having one recurring problem which is beginning to annoy me more and more and I'd greatly appreciate if someone can help.

I make gifs of popular TV shows and movies, to upload onto socail media (mostly tumblr and twitter). My process is: import video frames to layers > resize image > set frame delay to desired speed of gif > convert to video timeline > convert to smart filters > sharpen/blur/adjustment layers until I have the desired look > export > save for web

The problem I'm having is this: when I convert to video timeline, the speed increases dramatically. I spent hours yesterday and today googling and searching forums for a solution to this, but I haven't found this exact question be asked before. I've tried adjusting the frame rate but somehow this doesn't help, the gif is just as fast as before.

I've uploaded my gifs to show you what i mean.

Here what my gif looks like after I've imported the images, resized the image to 268px (cos that's tumblr's setting), and I've set the frame delay to 0.07:

bring-it-on-0.08.gif

Then when I click "convert to video timeline":

bring-it-on-timeline.gif

As you can see it's a lot faster, and I literally haven't done anything else, all I've done is converted to video timeline.

This is when I tried to reduce the frame rate from 30fps to 20fps

bring-it-on-fps-15.gif