• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What is the best process for making product photography mockups (for metal signs)

New Here ,
Oct 11, 2018 Oct 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I make custom metal address sign and artwork that I sell online.  Metal is very expensive so every time I create a new design I spend significant time and money cutting the sign out with my machine, then painting, then doing product photography, and finally creating listings on my site.  I have experimented a bit with just using renderings instead of actual photos on my product listings accompanied by some real pictures of the material, paint colors, etc.  I use the Creative Cloud software only as needed....meaning im not a pro at any one thing but when I need to do something I find the right tutorials, videos, forums, etc.

My question is basically this....I don't necessarily need a step by step but am more looking for advice on what process to use and in which application.  It seems like I could use Photoshop, Illustrator, or even Dimension, or a combo of the three and trying to determine what to spend my time on learning.  When I know what I am trying to do I can figure it out but the problem here is I am not sure exactly what I am trying to do.

I am looking to take a design I make in illustrator and place it in a real life image...like on the side of a house for my address signs or on a shelf or above a fireplace for my interior artwork.  I know it is pretty easy to simply overlay a graphic over a picture but I am looking for a more quality result.  Because my work is all made of metal it has some depth to it so simply placing the graphic on an image looks pretty fake.