• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why am I losing my layers from my PSD files? [2017]

Community Beginner ,
Oct 26, 2017 Oct 26, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

After creating a layered PSD file I save it. Then I flatten the image and save as a PDF. When I go back to the PSD file I lose all the layers (it is also flattened). I have been doing it this way for many years. This unwanted flattening of the original PSD has just started happening. I cannot afford to lose the original layers as changes alway are needed.

Is this some new change to Photoshop?

Please help me.

TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 15, 2021 Sep 15, 2021

@CandyC941 wrote:

I save the PSD 1st, then save a flat PDF and then I go back later to open up my PSD file, and it's flat.

Hi @CandyC941 

You responded to a post from four years ago in 2017 and things have changed. In the post you replied to from 2019, @davescm succinctly called this a "gotcha" and this issue has been solved by Adobe.

As of 22.4.1, use Save a Copy to save png, jpg, pdf, etc. You will not lose your Photoshop layers.
As of 22.4.2, you can revert to the previous behavior in

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When you export a psd file to a pdf is this box checked?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied