Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Workflow question

Contributor ,
Apr 03, 2022 Apr 03, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all.

I am in the process of upgrading my 12 year old PC. During my research for the optimum PS PC I came across some workflow suggestions that recommend a system/programs disk, a scratch disk, a project disk and a storage disk.

Forgive my ignorance, but would someone please explain the idea of a project disk? I am a serious amateur photographer working only with stills and my current workflow is to keep all my image files on one disk, with both raw files and edited files in separate folders on that disk.  

Should I be keeping my edited files (projects) on a separate disk, then after editing move to long term storage?

Regards,

Steve

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Apr 04, 2022 Apr 04, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I suspect the recommendation you found boils down to: 
• one should ideally only keep OS and applications (and related resources like fonts, ICC profiles, presets etc.) on the System Drive 
• one should, if possible, use a dedicated Scratch Disk 
https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/scratch-disks-preferences.html

So the »project disk« would simply be a disk different from the OS and the Scratch Disk. 

Aside from that backing up one’s data regularly is certainly recommendable. 
Long term storage may also benefit from having a back-up. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I did not mention my backup workflow.