• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

P: Show layer contents which extend beyond the canvas

LEGEND ,
Jan 12, 2012 Jan 12, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'd love the option to see what lies outside the bounds of my document and have those items be selectable. As an interactive designer I'm constantly shifting UI elements around during the design phase. It's often that I reposition or draw items where parts of them extend beyond the canvas and if I need to resize or rearrange these items it's difficult for me to see where they stop/start or exist if they lay outside the canvas. I don't see this as an "always on" option, but rather a toggle when I need it (much like hiding and showing guides) and where the items could even be faded back to 50% opacity, for example. I believe this would dramatically improve workflow efficiency.

Idea Released
TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Employee , Sep 24, 2015 Sep 24, 2015
This is available with Photoshop CC 2015 and its new artboards.

Votes

Translate

Translate
9 Comments
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Great idea, but I prefer to create in Illustrator and then export as layers to Photoshop. That said, I think viewing the contents outside the canvas would be very useful, even when you need extra donor material for the clone stamp.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This would be a nice option for designers. (IMO it needs to be a preference because not all users want to see objects that extend off the canvas) I had it on my idea laundry list when we were adding the multi-layer select in CS2, but it never bubbled up to the top. We'll see if there's more support for it.