• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Suggestions for Improving the Ecosystem

Explorer ,
Mar 26, 2023 Mar 26, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a creative photographer and I use Lightroom Classic and Photoshop (and Camera Raw) extensively in my workflow. They are, I believe, the best programs in their class and I cannot imagine functioning without them. I am, however, frustrated by inconsistencies in their interfaces. In Lightroom, for example, you adjust contrast by placing the cursor on the slider and then using arrow keys to increase or decrease contrast 5 values at a time (or 20 if you hold the Tab key). In Photoshop, however, adjustments are made by putting the cursor on the adjustment name, and then using arrow keys to increase or decrease contrast by 1 value at a time (or 10 if you hold the Tab key). I find the disconnect maddening.

I am frustrated as well by functional differences between Lightroom and Photoshop. Recent releases of Lightroom have seen dramatic improvements its interface and functionality, especially selection and masking, content-aware remove, color grading, tone curve, and the color panel. Increasingly I find there are things I can do in Lightroom but not in Photoshop. In Lightroom, for example, I can easily adjust the luminance of eight colors or use Tone Curve to adjust the luminance of colors in highlights, lights, darks, and shadows, things I cannot do as easily - if at all - in Photoshop (e.g. using Camera Raw as a filter, for example, but that is cumbersome).