If your file contains items that are not supported in your required format (e.g. layers or 16 bits/channel or cropped but undeleted pixels) then the file format is moved to the Save a Copy menu. This was driven by changes in the Mac Operating System (although the change is applied to both Mac and Windows), but also prevents users from inadvertently losing layers etc.
Thanks Dave, I thought it was like that, some time before,.....as I mentioned, not sure if this extra step is good for us or not,... certainly I can live with that,.... Not sure how you can lost a layers, if you save as,.....that is you like to save it in different format, and original file stay open,....I think is more complicated and delicate for mistake now,..... Either I have to save under different name as save a copy (did not try it yet), or flatten the image and then you have a possibility of losing a layers,........ But anyway, I will appreciate if you can choose this feature on and off in preferences,....... Appreciate you input Dave.....Thanks