• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Content Aware Fill at 16-bit? (i.e. without active selection)

Community Beginner ,
May 25, 2021 May 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys, newbie here. Quetsion: is it possible to apply Content Aware Fill at 16-bit? I mean, I knew that any active selection reduces the bit-depth to 8-bit. So, is there a way to use Content Aware Fill without selecting an active area? Thanks in advance.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Content aware fill requires selection . It cannot be done without selction .

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

@Ilario5E19 wrote:

I mean, I knew that any active selection reduces the bit-depth to 8-bit. 

The data is the data; so if you have high bit data (Photoshop calls anything more than 8-bits per color "16-bits" even though it's not), the content aware will be high bit. The selection is moot in terms of the data being processed. 

As Mohammad stated, you must make a selection so by all means do so. 

Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management/pluralsight"

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 26, 2021 May 26, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied