• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Evening Out Skin Tone

Community Beginner ,
May 29, 2021 May 29, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm relatively new to Photoshop but am picking it up fairly quickly. I have a photo to edit - the subject is very pale, her make-up is a wee bit uneven, and the highlight on her cheek is hotter than I'd like (even after adjusting white balance, exposure and contrast). I've done massive searches on youtube to find suggestions for fixing these issues, but there are myriad ways to correct this - at varying degrees of difficult. What I'd like to ask all of YOU is what process do YOU use? I'm (obviously) looking for something not terribly convoluted.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Frequency Separation is most likely the best method for evening out skin tones. For a beginner, it might seem too convoluted, but it's worth learning.  There are lots of tutorials on it.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 30, 2021 May 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Take a look at the raw conversion first, there is more latitude for highlight adjustment than in the rendered file. You can then look at the Image > Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights command in Photoshop and selective masking, also perhaps optionally using blend modes such as darken.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied