• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I colorize a black and white photo to a specific colour?

Explorer ,
Jun 10, 2021 Jun 10, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

At present I'm trying to colourized the following product for our company website:

S752GY.jpg

I'm trying to colorize the product to the following blue colour:

S750-BL.jpg

I am very new to Photoshop and I'm learning a lot.  I've tried a fair few things and read a few articles.  So I've tried things like the Raw Camera, the Neural Filter,  multiple adjustment and clicked colorize and finally added a solid colour layer and tried to match the colour using that.  The best I have managed is:

working-blue.png

Yes, I know it's missing it's feet and the step pads but I cut them out so that I can add them back at a later date after I mated the body of the product to the required colour successfullly.

I'm really hoping somebody out there has some hints or ideas so that I can get a closer match to the colour I require.

Thanks in advance for any help anybody might be able to offer.

Regards

Nick Perks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 12, 2021 Jun 12, 2021

Just hit OK, then edit the Gradient as necessary. 

recolorStairTestMov.gif

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Gradient Map Adjustment Layers with Layer Masks would be one option. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied