• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Long wait times in Printer Dialogue boxes solved

New Here ,
Jun 30, 2021 Jun 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a photographer who is represented by a local gallery where there is significant interest in my work that I get orders for prints frequently. On and off again over the past 5 years I've witnessed a duel between Adobe and Microsoft that has played out on our backs because they were unwilling to acknowledge who was creating the bottleneck and who should solve it.

I just found an elegant solution of my own. It is a bit unconventional, but I have been testing it now nearly every day for about 3 weeks and it is performing flawlessly.

Here is an analysis of the problem;

I press <CTRL-P> to bring up the Print Settings Dialog. It takes 80 seconds to appear. I press the <Print Settings> button to dive deeper into the configuration. It takes 80 seconds to appear. When the <Printer Properties> screen finally appears, I make the necessary changes and click <OK> to return to the Print Settings Dialogue. It takes another 80 seconds for that dialogue to appear. I make whatever adjustments are required (usually just paper selection. I press the <PRINT> button. It takes about 80 seconds to send the info to the printer and finally begin the printing job.

By this time I'm pulling my hair out and I only have about 20 more prints to make.

The entire time between deciding to print and actually beginning to print is about 6.5 minutes, and this includes the 80 second lag after you press the <Print> button and have control over Photoshop again.