• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Looking to layer approximately 11.4 million images. Could use some script help.

Community Beginner ,
Jul 19, 2021 Jul 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I should probably start by saying I'm a Photoshop newbie -- I downloaded it to experiment with color grading, as part of a project to remaster NTSC content. 

I would like to create a script that performs the following task: 

1). Open Image 1A. 

2). Open Image 1B. 

3). Layer Image A on to Image B at 50% opacity. 

4). Flatten the image. 

5). Adjust color balance. 

6). Save result as a new file, Image 1C. 

7). Increment to the next file in the directory (2A, 2B) and perform steps 1-6 again. 

It would be *nice* if I had the option to add a third blending option (Image A, B, and C in this case, with final output Image D) but it is not required. It would also be nice to dump the output to a different directory but again, is not required. 

I have looked online and found multiple scripts / suggestions for how to merge images side-by-side, but not what I was looking for in terms of creating layers. 

I believe doing this through a script is better than through batch actions (if it's even possible that way), but am not sure how to do it. Are there any sites or resources that can teach how to write this kind of script? 

TOPICS
Actions and scripting , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You are right, actions can't do this, it is a job for a script and there are many examples of such scripts in the forum.