• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop Freezes during moving, painting and saving randomly

New Here ,
Jun 27, 2021 Jun 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

HI, I'm experiencing a troublesome freezing while working on bigger files (usually around 8k x 6k, 50-200mb psd). I'm a concept artist in a game studio and I'm working 8h a day using photoshop for past 5-6 years. Been a PS fan for a long time, but since 2020 update I've had freezing issues and several other performance problems. Since then, it seems every update is making the feeezes worse and I'm starting to think about canceling my adobe subscription because this problem really damages my workflow. It is a big issue for me, freeze every 20-30min where I have to close a document and reopen it to continue work, which is occuring on several devices, and among some of my friends too.

Exact issue description:

Randomly, during my paiting process, usually while navigating on the document with a move tool or paiting with a brush tool or immidately after saving with a ctrl+s shortcut, all my input regarding the document is gone. I can't scroll the view scrollbar, zoom in or zoomout, use any tools - nothing related to the document itself. I still have access to application menus and I am able to close the document or save it (so fortunatelly I don't lose progress...). So I usually save again to be sure, close the document and reopen from last opened, and it seems to work again for like 20 minutes before happening again. If I close the app and restart it seems to happen less commonly but surely several times a day at least.

While researching the issue I have went with a lot of dead-ends. I'm not sure what is causing it, I have experienced it on my work PC, my home pc, my new work laptop which I currently use the most.