• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Elements Organiser doesn't work with b&w photos

New Here ,
Mar 28, 2021 Mar 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi - I'm a newbie to the Elements world. I'm having lots of trouble working with b&w photos in Elements Organiser. Most (though strangely not all) b&w photos don't display a thumbnail image - it is all black. If I open that image in Photoshop Elements, it also displays an all black image. However, as noted above a very few images display both a thumbnail and full image when opened. All files were created by scanning the original negatives with the same scanner in the same session. Looking at the metadata, there is no obvious difference between the images that display and those that don't. Windows File Explorer has no trouble displaying the thumbnails of these images and Windows Photo Viewer has no trouble displaying the full image. Any suggestions? - I'm at a total loss. Thanks

TOPICS
Organizer , Problem or error , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Mar 28, 2021 Mar 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are setting your scanner to a high resolution dpi, you may be exceeding the size limits that Elements can handle

What is the size in pixels of your problem scans?  What is the size of the prints that you are scanning?  You probably don't need to scan at the highest scanner dpi.  You may only be increasing the file size without improving real  resolution.

If this is not the issue, please post a screenshot of the black thumbnails.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Mar 29, 2021 Mar 29, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied