• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Move Catalog AND Pictures to another Drive

Community Beginner ,
May 01, 2020 May 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a newbie to Photoshop Elements Organizer 2019 so sorry if this has been already answered.  Also not sure of the lingo as to how Organizer works.  Did read a lot on the site but not sure I understand it.  I'm running the software on a Windows 10 machine.

Here is my situation.  I have all my photos in various folders within "E:/Pictures" on my E: drive.  I then used Organizer to Import the photos into a folder called "0PhotoElementsOrgCatalog" within E:/Pictures. What I thought would happen was it would create a relatively small catalog folder.  However the size of the folder is about 90Gigs.  I have about 13,000 photos.  Within this folder I see files called "B0000000.cache, B0000001, B0000002, B0000003.xmp (tons of XMP files), tons of .json files, tons of .jpg files, my .mov files, my .m4v files).  All my original photos & videos are still in the folders they should be.  

Now that I know that Organizer created such a large folder, I want to move this folder to a different drive which has a lot more space.  Let's say the H: drive.  I first used the "Manage Catalogs" action to "Move" the Catalog to a "Custom Location" which I said the H: drive.  It created a "MyCatalog" Folder but it is only about 1.2 Gigs.  It clearly didn't move the imported pictures/movies files I shared above.  

What I want to know is: What is the proper way to move this 90 Gig "0PhotoElementsOrgCatalog" folder from the E Drive to the H drive.  I've already put in some amount of effort into doing the facial recognition and people tagging of photos.  So I don't want to loose my work.