• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need help with I guess "masking"

New Here ,
Nov 17, 2021 Nov 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am pretty new to this and am struggling with trying to create irregular "cut-out" pieces of photos to create a photo mosaic. I have gotten to the point of creating a surrounding brush-applied fill that extends to the edges of the original photo. The color is something not in the inner piece I want to retain and I guess I need to create some kind of mask or inverse mask to remove the surrounding fill that I created. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Nov 18, 2021 Nov 18, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please explain in more detail what you have done so far, and give us a screenshot of your image with the layers panel open.  Since you are new to this, I am guessing that your brush-applied fill has been added to the original photo layer.  A mask requires more than one layer.  For example, if you had an old photo with a white border and wanted to change the color of the border, you could simply use the paint bucket tool to pour the color into the white border.  You would still have only one layer, but you would have changed the color of the border pixels of that layer. Alternatively, you could add a new layer with a single color and mask the layer to hide the color over the photo below, so that the color only showed over the border of that photo.  Or you could have the background layer with a single color and place the photo layer over it.  You could then mask the border of the photo so only the background color would show through.

If you give us more information about what you are trying to do, perhaps we can be more helpful.

Votes

Translate