• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PE2020 watch folder does not accept mapped network drive letter. Any solutions?

Explorer ,
Jun 07, 2020 Jun 07, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This forum post would appear to cover my question but the answer involves entering a UNC path for the watch folder.

watch folder unc cap.JPG

Yet the dialog box in my new PE2020 does not allow manual entry of a UNC path; just selection from the typical drive/folder tree.

watch folder cap.JPG

Am I overlooking something?

Also, just to confirm, am I correct in understanding that it is not possible to have PE2020 scan the  folder containing all my photos and update the catalog with any changes it finds?  I'm new to PE and am trying to adjust. I presume that's the reason for the Watch folder, so that changes will be picked up that way.

TOPICS
Organizer

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 09, 2020 Jun 09, 2020

I assume you are refering to this thread as your follow up post? (Your link leads back here.)  I have responded there.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jun 08, 2020 Jun 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Were you unable to see the drive on your Network via the navigation dialog?

trwalp said:

Also, just to confirm, am I correct in understanding that it is not possible to have PE2020 scan the folder containing all my photos and update the catalog with any changes it finds?

You can Import>In Bulk and direct the import dialog to the folder containing your photos.  Upon completion, only found files that are not already in your catalog will be imported.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines