Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Reducing Image Size to Send to Print Shop

Community Beginner ,
Jul 31, 2022 Jul 31, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I am new to Adobe Photoshop. I need to reduce the image size of a picture, then upload the new file to an online print shop for them to print.

I have gone into 'Image' and 'Resize', then under document size I appear to successfully reduce the image size (without using  resampling so I do not sacrifice resolution). When resizing, I was careful to only change one of the dimensions (i.e., width) while letting the other field (i.e, length) update automatically.

The issue is that after saving the revised image to my computer, I then upload it to the online photo shop. But no matter what size print (i.e., 9 x 16) I choose on their website, my resized image appears to be exactly the same size (32 x 57) as my original file. This is TOO LARGE.

I have spent days on this. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to reduce an image and have it keep the reduced size when being submitted to a photo shop for the purpose of printing???

Note, I have avoided cropping because I prefer to keep the full picture.

Thanks in advance!!!

TOPICS
How to , Problem or error

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Did you SAVE it or did you SAVE FOR WEB or did you use EXPORT. These don't work the same. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Mentor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

whats the online print shop, and are your measurments in cm, inches, or feet?  What are the document dimensions?