• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Will unchecking the "layers" box when saving a TIF file affect the quality of a print of the image?

New Here ,
Nov 30, 2021 Nov 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am an artist creating files that I can send to a printer to create high quality prints.  The printer's upload system won't take more than 100MB.  I have a TIF file of my work that is 133MB.  I noticed that if I uncheck the "layers" box when I save the TIF file / check the "save as a copy" box, the file size falls to less than 100MB.  My question is:  Will unchecking this box change the overall quality of the print?  I know I won't have layers to play with in Photoshop, and that's fine.  I am only concerned with the quality of the print.  Thank you

TOPICS
Creative , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The quality of the print is detemined by the resolution of the file and by the physical printer.

For printing, the rule of thumb is for the resolution to be in the 240-300 px/in. range.

The print head of the printer determines the dots/in (DPI) output.

Other variables are the type of paper and ink (original manufacturer vs. generic).

If the goal is to get to 100 MB, I invariably go to File>save for web and you can readily change this parameter.  Be sure that the "Constrain Proportions" box is checked.

Does your commercial print shop identify the file format that they prefer?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied