• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

8 bit vs 16 bit color editing

Community Beginner ,
Aug 09, 2020 Aug 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I just purchased Photoshop Elements 2020 for Mac from the Mac Store.  I am just a photo hobbyist, not a professoinal and do a lot of my exposure editing right within Photos.  I pretty much only intended to use Photoshop Elements to remove unwanted items in a photo or resize or a few things like that.  When I open the Photoshop Elements editor from within Mac OS Photos to edit a photo, if it is a photo I took with my iPhone XSMax, I get a message that this is a 16 bit color photo and cannot be edited unless it is converted to an 8 bit color image.  I take most of my photos with a Sony RX10 Mark III at the moment that I download directly into Mac OS Photos.  When I open a photo shot with this camera, I don't get the same message.  It is a bit of an older camera, although quite capable.  Maybe newer cameras shoot 16 bit.  Anyway, how much is lost converting to 8 bit.  Did I buy the wrong photo editor.  Does full Photoshop work with 16 bit color?

Thanks.

TOPICS
How to , Mac

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 03, 2023 Nov 03, 2023

Are these camera raw files?

If so, in the Camera Raw dialog at the bottom set it for 8 Bits/Channel

Screenshot-(1141).jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I think you are worrying too much about 8 vs 16 bit.