• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help, My eraser tool is painting

New Here ,
Aug 21, 2010 Aug 21, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When I select my basic eraser tool, it paints instead of erasing.  I was playing around with the background eraser one night and it has been messed up ever since.  I have tried resetting my tools with no luck.  I'm new to elements and I'm sure it is something simple but I just can'y figure it out.  I need it back in a hurry to finish a project.  Can anyone help?

TOPICS
Problem or error

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Aug 21, 2010 Aug 21, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you use the regular eraser on a background layer (as opposed to a regular layer) it replaces what you erase with the background color. Does it work the way you want if you first double click the background layer to change it to a regular layer?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 14, 2018 Jan 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I FIGURED IT OUT EVERYBODY!!! HALLELUJAH!

When you go to background layer and you are using your eraser, actually you are 'painting out' your  background layer mistakes in white!  So your eraser tool actually becomes like a paintbrush!  Simply make sure that BOTH your color boxes in the upper right hand corner are designated as pure white.  Then when you hit the eraser tool (which actually is acting like a paintbrush) your 'mistake lines' will be 'whited out' like if using good ol' fashioned 'white out'.