• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing photos from USB HD

New Here ,
Mar 31, 2020 Mar 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all. I'm new to Photoshop Elements (2020). I understood that photos are imported to Elements in order to create a catalog for photos. In this process photos are imported to computer's harddrive. I would like to do the import in a way that photos stay at HD because my there are more photos in USB HD than what my computers local HD can store. Is it possible to preserve photos in original location in import process?

TOPICS
How to , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 31, 2020 Mar 31, 2020

There are two ways to 'Import' photos: 

- from camera or card reader

- from files and folders.

In the first case, you are supposed to want to copy the files (import) from 'external media' to your computer drives (internal or external) then to 'register' or 'index' the image files in a catalog.

In the second case (which includes importing from USB external drive), you are supposed to keep the files where they are and only to register/index the files in the catalog.

There is no difference betw

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are two ways to 'Import' photos: 

- from camera or card reader

- from files and folders.

In the first case, you are supposed to want to copy the files (import) from 'external media' to your computer drives (internal or external) then to 'register' or 'index' the image files in a catalog.

In the second case (which includes importing from USB external drive), you are supposed to keep the files where they are and only to register/index the files in the catalog.