• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Moving PSE 17 (2019) from Windows to Mac

New Here ,
Nov 25, 2019 Nov 25, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using Adobe Photoshop Elements since 2003 (PSE v2.0) and am on the latest 17.0 (2019). Up to now I have done everything on MS Windows and currently on WIn 10 Pro. I have now moved everything to a MacBook Air (v,10,14,2) laptop. My catalog has well over 43,000 items in it, mostly JPG photos and some videos. After making the move and working with the catalog for a while I noticed some disturbing issues.
1. Nearly 3000 of the items took on the date that I restored the backup onto the MAC.
2. About half of them were videos which ended up being all the videos in the catalog.
3. In the JPG photos it appears that these particular photos do not have date information in the “Camera Data (EXIF)” portion of the metadata.
· In the absence of dates in the metadata I would have expected the restore to set the date based on the earliest file date. Or to flag them and ask what I want to do.
· Is there was a utility to update the dates based on what is found in the backup.
· It seems my only option (although very undesirable) is to manually go through all 3000 items and set the date/time. Fortunately, I can still reference the last MS Windows version of the catalog even though it is now very much out of date with the MAC catalog.
4. The other issue I have observed is that when I display the contents of a file directory, using the left-hand Folders panel, there are some directories that have photos in them but say there is nothing to display. In the photo well, the information for these photos show them in the selected directory. FINDER shows that the files are there but selecting the directory in the side panel shows nothing.
· I verified that I did not have any filters active and that all item types were selected to view.