Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Organizer database JSON files

New Here ,
Sep 16, 2020 Sep 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I am new in the support community however I have been using Element starting from version 6. I am now on the latest version (18) on windows. 

I have a fairly large database of around 90K pictures that I have built slowly over the years. I have been using face recognition since the beginning and, in general, I am fairly happy with the result. Over the years I have spent many hours / days / week, cleaning it up and tagging everything. I am now at a point where the number of JSON files in the database is becoming overwelming. I like to copy the catalog on a usb stick when I travel, for laptop use, but the time it takes to perform the copy of 90K files is just way too long. Samething when I do the catalog backup on my NAS. Even zipping it takes foreever. It is becoming really anoying and it is not going to improve as more picture are pouring in. Element is installed on a new Intel 10th Gen 6 cores Computer with plenty of memory.

As a work around, I have decided to split my catalog in smaller chunk of about 10K pictures each. So I removed about 80K pictures from catalog to make the first one and clean up the tags and album and the rest. All is fine as far as the Organizer goes. When I go back to the to see how many JSON files remains in the folder, nothing has changed, sitll 90K JSON files! I seems that when pictures are removed from the catalog the JSON folder is not cleanup. The JSON files might be cleanup (many only have {} in them) but are not deleted. I have not found any way to kind of rebuilt the catalog, while retaining the face recognition info. So my efforts to go around the problem were in vain. 

I understand that I can get rid of it all and start from scratch but I would like to retain the face analysis work that I have already done, since I spent many, many hours cleaning it. Any suggestion?