Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What Happened To The Clone Tool?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 23, 2019 Jul 23, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I have been using Photoshop Elements since 2004 (PSE-2). The Clone tool, which I use extensively, has worked the same way and quite well for these 15 years and 4 (or 5) upgrades..until today. Always the same steps: choose the area I want to sample, click>alt>left-click and paint away. Never a problem. Today, in the middle of editing photos Clone decided to change how it operates, or it simply bugged out on me. Worked one minute, didn't the next.

--->

Open new image in PSE 15>choose Clone tool>choose area to sample from>Alt>left-click> then, when I attempt to paint-over my intended area, the area being sampled is not the one I chose but an inch or more away.  I also get an "..area has not been defined..." popup  although I am "defining"-away...

When I try define another area it "picks up" a chunk of pixels I'm clicking over in the image and then "follows" my cursor around the image, like a little shadow I can't shake off. It also carries over to other files opened in the program. I have to close the file out for it to go away.

I think (?) this "ghosting' could be a component of one way the clone tool works, but it is never the way I've used it. My method has always been straight-forward, precise..never involved dragging around a chunk of pixels stuck to my cursor tool.

Clone settings are on default with "Clipped" being the only checked box. I am not working in layers, just the original jpeg files.

What was once a very streamlined way of editing photos has become a clunky, unusable mess.