72DPI PSD Images showing a different size at 100% than when viewing the output jpg at 100%

Dec 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

We're on MacOSX Big Sur and Running Photoshop 2021.

iMac Retina 5k, 27"

Here's a seemingly new problem I have found after installing and setting up this new machine.

When i work on a 72dpi image in Photoshop it appears to me at one size when viewed 100% to scale.

When myself or someone else opens it on web, preview, acrobat, etc the image appears to be about 150% bigger and distorted.  If i then grab that jpg and open it in Photoshop- it appears the way it originally did at 100% in Photoshop.

What little i've found so far has people muttering about the 5K monitor being the issue, but, i dont understand why the image would appear two different sizes at 100% on the same machine.

I have been using Photoshop for almost 20 years and never ran into an issue like this.  I am working at 100% scale in Photoshop, but, finding out my images are getting distorted once they leave PSD.

Any information/ workarounds/ etc on this?  Thanks so much.

Attached I have the same file opened in Photoshop and Preview- both are viewed at 100%. You can see the giant difference.

TOPICS
Problem or error

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

72DPI PSD Images showing a different size at 100% than when viewing the output jpg at 100%

Dec 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

We're on MacOSX Big Sur and Running Photoshop 2021.

iMac Retina 5k, 27"

Here's a seemingly new problem I have found after installing and setting up this new machine.

When i work on a 72dpi image in Photoshop it appears to me at one size when viewed 100% to scale.