• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Basic questions about new super resolution feature

Community Beginner ,
Mar 13, 2021 Mar 13, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. I am excited to hear about the new super resolution feature available in Photoshop through the Camera Raw plug-in.

I have never used the Camera Raw plug-in until now. And I am a novice in general with photoshop and image processing. I have some questions that are probably rather basic. I have done some searching on google and on the forum, but I can't seem to find the answers. So I would be very appreciative if anyone would be willing to give their input on what may be rather rudimentary questions. 🙂

1. From the articles and videos I have seen so far, everyone always mentions super resolution in light of being able to make much larger prints of images. I just want to check: does super resolution's functionality make a difference for a digital image period, or is it only purposed for printing?

(The rest of the questions assume that the answer to question 1 is "yes," it makes a difference even when the aim is not printing.)

2. Can super resolution make a positive difference if my input image is .jpg rather than raw (and I open the image using "Open As" and select "Camera Raw")?

3. Does the answer to question 2 apply for .tiff and .png as input images as well?

(The following questions assume the answer is "yes" for questions 1 and 2.)

4. If my input image is, eg, 450 dpi, does it matter what settings I use for dpi in Camera Raw (given that I won't be printing)?

5. I am not familiar at all with .dng files. If I run super resolution on a .jpg file, I am able to successfully get of a .dng file saved to the same folder as the original.

5a. In my reading, I thought I understood someone to say that .dng files are somehow dependent or inherently connected to the original. Is that the case, or can one use a .dng file just like using a .jpg or .png?