• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating a batch process action to subtract one background image from many other images

Community Beginner ,
Jun 09, 2021 Jun 09, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello! Novice Ps user here, I have a tedious process that I’ve been doing manually for a couple of years; I’m trying to figure out how to automate it, but having trouble finding what I need in forums. I’m a biology graduate student working with fluorescent microscopy. For each sample, I take an image under regular light, 2-3 different exposures with the red filter (looking for Red Fluorescent Protein), and 2-3 exposures with a green filter (for green fluorescent protein). Every few months I take a new set of blank images at each exposure time to account for ambient light and the dead pixels on our very old camera.

My manual workflow is

1. Open the set of blank images, open the set of experimental images.
  2. Select “Blank 1s”, select all, copy, then paste onto “Experiment RFP 1s”
  3. Rename the layers “Pixels 1s” and “RFP 1s” to keep track of what I did (I need this for data accountability purposes)
  4. Select “Pixels 1s” layer > blending options > difference
  5. Then I Save As a PSD with a slightly new name “Experiment RFP 1s pixels removed” and as a JPEG with that name as well. This way I’m not altering original files, and if I need to, I can go back and see the chain of alterations I made to each image.
  6. After I do this for each image, I select which exposures to use (depending on my control I will have to choose a longer or shorter exposure time to avoid using an overexposed image). Then I need to create a layered image.
  7. *If I could just automate the above that would make my life so much easier, the next part would be icing on the cake*