• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Feathering not working properly

Community Beginner ,
Oct 01, 2019 Oct 01, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using Photoshop for over 20 years, so I know my way around this tool pretty well. 

I've been using Feathering for almost as long. But today, it appears broken.

I am trying to feather using the refine edge too and I am getting hard edges just beyond the feathered area. This has never happened before and is incredibly frustrating. 

Here's an image with a preview and my settings.

My selection with preview.My selection with preview.

And here's an image where I've deleted the selection. You can see the hard edge.

Final result shows hard edge to the left of the feather.Final result shows hard edge to the left of the feather.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you post a pic of your layers for your second image? It looks like there is another layer or something in there. 

Melissa Piccone | Adobe Trainer | Online Courses Author | Fine Artist

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

All of my layers are off, except for the one I am working on.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Also, I cleared my Photoshop preferences, just in case. But it didn't help.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can end up with a hard edge if it is the edge of a layer or previously selected with a selection too.