• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Flatten, why do I have to flatten jpgs NOW to save them?

Explorer ,
Jan 15, 2020 Jan 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ok I open up a jpg, do some simple editing (crop, darken, lighten) and then when I click to save, a dialog box opens (windows explorer) and asks me to save as a .psd and shows some very strange jpg extensions too. So for me to save as a .jpg,  I have to flatten it then save it as a jpg. that has never happened before. I know that when I am working in layers I have to flatten but not for a normal image, what is going on? Is this a glitch in my system or a software issue? I also import the images from Lightroom as .NEF and then export to Photoshop (PS) as jpg.

I have been using PS since 1995 so I am experianced with the software, I have updated PS also. This is crazy, on the early verison of PS, everything works fine. I also open other images and do not have this issue, starting to think it might be a media card issue. If there is any help or advice please share. 

(update) I added a link to the video please view and you will understand.

PS version: 21.0.02

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 16, 2020 Jan 16, 2020

»Delete Cropped Pixels« seems to be unchecked in the Options Bar for the Crop Tool. 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please post a screenshot including the Layers Panel. 

What are the Crop Tool settings in the Options Bar? (Edit: In particulr with regard to »Delete Cropped Pixels«.) 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines