• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I add grain to a black and white photo to age it

Explorer ,
Dec 08, 2020 Dec 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Novice here.  I have a black and white photo that I want to add some graininess to so that it looks like a picture from the 60s.  How can I add a layer of graininess?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Filter>Noise>Add Noise

Granted there are other ways too.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you insert it into your post so we can see it? It might depend on the photo.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Dec 09, 2020 Dec 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ellisalbum base.jpg

Here's the jpg copy.  Looking to age this b&w. Also how could I add a ring to simulate a worn LP album cover.  Thanks for your input. Craig

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are many methods and filters in Photoshop, however, I normally use one of the options in the following action:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5rmz0b6c7a40h7y/Smart%20Noise%20CS3.atn

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I will also recommend to you to convert layer with image to Smart Object because you can later change grain settings without any penalty. Especially at the beginning you will need to practice and experiment and SO layers are forgiving any mistake.

Votes

Translate