• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to create a transparent knockout through a background?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 24, 2018 Jul 24, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Im still fairly new to Photoshop and i've been doing small projects over the years and learn new stuff every time. Things seem to be going ok but now im faced with a problem that I can't solve myself.

Im creating a retail looking product that you hang on a retail hook (see example).

Everything is going ok with my project except one thing. I can't solve the knockout part and make the inside of it looking transparent.

This is a test project (not the actual one):

2018-07-24_15-14-04.png?raw=1

Now what I want to do is to make the inside of the hook part transparent, instead of showing the white background. Im confused. I think what im looking for has something to do with masks? which I know nothing about. I looked through some tutorial videos but I couldn't find something related to what im trying to achieve here.

Help please? I can't do this with the quick selection tool because it'll take a long time to make a perfect selection. Im sure there's an easier way but as I mentioned before im still learning.

Thanks in advance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 24, 2018 Jul 24, 2018

Hi

Try this

Set a fill colour for your cutout shape, the colour does not matter but it must not be no fill.

Right click the shape in the layers panel and in blending options set knockout to deep

In the layers panel set Fill to 0%

That's it:

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied