• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to lighten up black parts of an image in Photoshop CC ?

Oct 31, 2017 Oct 31, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

UJO_7075_test_resize.jpg

Having received on my first post a month ago very nice and reliable advice, I dare to ask the comunity again.

What would be the quick and professional way to lightern up black parts of an image. I am not talking about shadows. I am specifically talking about blacks and greys.

I put an image above as an example. I want his suit to be lighter. Thank you in advance. Keep in mind I am moderatly familiar with photoshop and I am still learning. Detailed, step-by-step instructions would suit me best, but any answer I will greatly appreciate. Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 31, 2017 Oct 31, 2017

You can use the Adjustment Brush in the Camera Raw Filter, which uses a mask to apply the edits to only the areas you select, play with any of the sliders to see the effect and to reset the slider to default just double click on the slider.

Turning the layer to a Smart Object and then applying the camera raw filter as a smart filter. allows you to go back and change the adjustments if you desire.

Apply Smart Filters in Photoshop

Make local adjustments in Adobe Camera Raw

the mask that gets created

mask.jpg

adjbrushcr2.jpg

adjbrushcr1.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Once the image is open in PS, in the menu bar, go to Filters -> Camera Raw. In camera raw, move the "shadows" and or "blacks" sliders to suit your taste. Then, click OK in the lower right hand corner of the Camera Raw filter.