• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to reduce number of colors in an image [2012]

New Here ,
Feb 05, 2012 Feb 05, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am fairly new to Photoshop and I'm learning as I go, so I apologize for using your time.  I haven't worked with images that much - I've used MS Digital Image Suite with photos from my camera.  That's the extent of my knowledge.

I am taking over a job from someone who is gone and I can't ask him how to do this.  He used Photoshop to reduce the number of colors in an image (for example, a color drawing or clipart) to 2-6 colors.  I haven't been able to figure this out.  I've visited this site that explains how to reduce tones but it's still a lot of colors.  I thought I might learn something from this link that explained how to make Photoshop cartoons, but I didn't.  I've done a lot of searching but nothing seems to explain this.  I know that the other guy had some knowledge of Photoshop but he wasn't a power user.

Thanks to anyone who will help me.  (I am using CS5.)

TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Feb 09, 2012 Feb 09, 2012

Are you sure that he was using Photoshop? (see my third solution)

1) There are some plug-ins for Photoshop, but they basically do the same as the posterize or index mode: http://www.topazlabs.com/simplify/ (commercial) see this panel for colorizing comic art: http://vimeo.com/user3771002/videos

2)I would rather use posterize, as an adjustment layer, as you can control it.

Try with this layer stack, from bottom to top:

Convert the original image in a Smart Object, in order to use Smart filters

Votes

Translate

Translate
New Here , Dec 25, 2020 Dec 25, 2020

how to reduce number of colors in an image is easy in Photoshop.