• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to use the paint bucket without getting white edges around the paint?

Community Beginner ,
Sep 05, 2016 Sep 05, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone.

This is my first post on the forum, Photoshop-wise I'm still a beginner.

I have a question:

When I use the paint bucket to color something, white edges appear between the outline and the colored area.

Example:

https://s6.postimg.io/af4fxj6e7/jongen_hoofd_blij_achtergrond.jpg

(As you see, the problem is especially visible in the black hair of the boy).

[Cropped image added by mod]

How can I fix this?

Thanks in advance!

Jessica

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Sep 05, 2016 Sep 05, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome to the forum Jessica

Increase the tolerance value on the paint bucket options bar.

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 07, 2016 Sep 07, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Photoshop’s Paint Bucket Tool is generally best avoided completely in my opinion.

Using Selections (created with the appropriate Tools, Magic Wand Tool for example) as the basis for Layer Masks might make more sense with regard to continued editability.

What is the Layer structure of the image?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied