• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is it possible to decrease brush flow or opacity with higher tilt?

New Here ,
Aug 29, 2020 Aug 29, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, 

I'm brand new to Photoshop, and looking for some brush advice. 

I'm trying to create a brush that mimics a sharpened charcoal pencil, and I'd like it to leave lighter lines when the stylus is tilted closer to horizontal. (In real media I guess this would be due to the larger surface area.)

There doesn't seem to be any curve setting, just stliders, right? Is it possible to reverse the tilt control slider somehow? Or is it always low-to-high?

I've been digging around and can't find anything like this.
If not possible via Photoshop, is there any alternative? (plugin? etc)

Thanks!

Update: tried Scatter as a workaround, but for some odd reason, the Pen Tilt control DECREASES scattering as you INCREASE tilt 😞 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 29, 2020 Aug 29, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. Although I don't actually draw with natural media, I've found that I've often gotten the PS effects I want by using some really well-made brushes made by others. I'm not sure these do exactly what you want - but they're a great set of really inexpensive, really powerful brushes, and they all have previews. I wish i could tell you we could change the tilt reaction or create a pressure curve based on angle - and it's possible people who know more about how natural media works will chime in with a better solution - but I recommend this site for a possible solution: https://www.grutbrushes.com/?s=charcoal&post_type=product

Adobe Community Expert / Adobe Certified Instructor