• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is there a new Photoshop shortcut key that locks Shift on? Please help!

Community Beginner ,
Oct 23, 2019 Oct 23, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am really struggling with a weird new shortcut thing that keeps happening to me while using Photoshop CC. I think I am pressing some kind of shortcut combination, while in PS, that results in an apparent 'Shift key lock'. It makes PS unusable but also affects the rest of my computer – i.e. Finder and other programmes. It is as if the Shift key is being held down and the only way to remedy it is a full computer restart, which I am now having to do many times each day. I still can't figure out what I am accidentally pressing to cause this!? I have been using PS for many, many years and this issue has only recently occurred.

It's not a keyboard issue as I've tried multiple keyboards. I use an Apple Macbook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012) with Mojave 10.14.6 and am running the latest version of Adobe Photoshop CC.

Has anyone else experienced this issue? I can't seem to find any info anywhere...? 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Probably due to the change adobe made to make Maintain Aspect Ratio on by default for some transform operations in photoshop cc 2019. Not all tools are like this, for example, shapes are not, so it throws users for a loop.

Look here under Transform proportionally by default

https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/whats-new.html

The good news is you can return to the old pre cc 2019 behavior by going to Photoshop CC>Preferences>General and check Use Legacy Free Transform.

Votes

Translate

Translate