Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New to Photoshop and I am trying to digitise some artwork

Community Beginner ,
Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there, 

I am new to Photoshop and Illustrator and I am trying to get some of my sketches digitised but I am having trouble removing the background. 

I've used the magic wand tool in Photoshop to try and do this but when I take the file to illustrator, you can still see some of the background inbetween the drawings! Sighs, I've searched the web and I am being to feel hopeless, any help I can get will be truly appreciated. 

Thanks in advance. 

Kind Regards, 
Ani

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020

blend if.jpg

Although the sample above uses a photo rather than a drawing, I believe the Blend If command will deliver the result you want.

If there is a lock on the background layer holding the image, drag the lock to the trash.

Place a transparent layer below the image layer

Double click on the image layer to bring up Layer Style

In the Blend If section, gently move the right slider to the left until the background disappears.

If, at that point, you feel the break to transparent is too abrupt, (pencil dra

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you post some examples of the background that you're trying to remove?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

20201201_084719.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,