Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New User Darken Background

Explorer ,
Apr 20, 2021 Apr 20, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello All,

I am trying to learn Photoshop, I have the $9.95 subscription.  I am a amature photographer and wonder if there is a way in Photoshop to darken the background.  I have seen videos on how to blur the background, but I would like to darken it just a little bit.  I don't want to totally change it to a different color. Thanks for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Apr 20, 2021 Apr 20, 2021

If you post the image we will be able to help further but the basic steps are :

1. Select the area you want to darken - the best tool to do that depends on the image

2. Add a curves adjustment layer (this will be added with a mask so that the adjustment only affects the area you selected)

3. In the properties panel grab the centre of the curve and pull it downwards

4. (Optional) Paint on the mask with white to extend the area affected by the adjustment or black to reduce the area affected

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Apr 20, 2021 Apr 20, 2021

Use Select / Subject then possible go into Select and Mask to adjust the mask edges as needed. 

Then go to brightness contrast or Levels or curves (Whatever you choose) and darken the background to your taste.  

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you post a screenshot of the background you're taking about? Not seeing it, I can tell you there are different ways of going about it if it's what I think it is. One would be:

-Duplicate the photo (always retain an untouched version in case you mess up)

-Set the duplicate to "Multiply."  Play with the opacity slider until it looks right.