Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New user - help with colour and shading of smart objects

Community Beginner ,
Jul 03, 2019 Jul 03, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to Photoshop but I recently got a pen display and I'm really loving it. I am making maps for a tabletop game and found smart objects to be really useful so that I could produce a few trees and paste them all over, rotating them and resizing them.

At first the smart object was just black pen lines, and in a layer under the trees object, I coloured them in, highlighted and shaded them. I then thought to save time I could add colour to the smart object, to save me putting the same base colour over each tree and I could just shade/highlight, but this is where I'm stumped and probably need another method which I don't yet know. Using the smart object with colour, I can no longer shade in between the colour and pen layers (without doing it inside the object (which I can't do because the different rotation would make the shading wrong)).

Is there another method I can use to place many copies of my tree, not have to colour them in with the base green, and then still be able to shade/highlight under the black pen details of the tree.

I really hope that's clear xD

Kind regards,

Zarakk

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 03, 2019 Jul 03, 2019

You could use the blend if sliders so that it knocks out the black, but doesn't knock out the dark green.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Zarakk,

Thanks for reaching out to us, could you please share some screenshots as that would be really helpful to understand what's going on?
Also, a video would be helpful as well.