• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Outer Glow and Drop Shadow Halo / Haze

New Here ,
Apr 02, 2021 Apr 02, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am an architect and use Photoshop to digitize my sketches. I have always used Photoshop's effect to punch up the basic line work. However, over the last year, I have noticed a strange haze appearing. It is extremely noticeable with Outer Glow, but still occurs with Drop Shadow. Recently, I have switched to Drop Shadow to avoid the issue blatantly occurring with Outer Glow. But, I don't think it is an error. I think it is a matter of understanding the mathematics behind Opacity, Spread, and Range.

In "2.jpg," an Outer Glow is applied. Its Opacity is 100%, its spread is 0%, and its range is 50%. In my mind, this indicates the linear contour will immediately fade from 100% to 0% over the Size of the Outer Glow. In this instance, the Size is 50 pixels.

In "1.jpg," the problem occurs. At times, I not only want a glow to my line work, but I want to punch them up by increasing the Spread. I increase the Spread to 20%, but lower the overall Opacity to 80% to avoid making the line work blurry.  In my mind, this indicates the linear contour should fade from 80% ( the Opacity ) to 0% after an even Spread of 20% the Size of the Outer Glow. However, the Spread is not even. There is a darker ridge and a strange halo created before the linear contour takes control of the fade to 0%. Why?

Yesterday, I felt Spread and Range may be inversely related. Bumping Range up to 70% appears to counter a Spread of 20%. But, what happens if the Spread is greater than 50%? You can't increase Range above 100%. So mathematically, this is likely not the case. Plus, none of this solves the strange transparency of the Outer Glow before the Linear Contour takes control at 20% Spread.